AI Voice Generators Compared: Plans, Rights and Cloning

ElevenLabs, Murf, WellSaid Labs and Speechify Studio: free tiers, plan prices, monthly allowances, commercial rights, cloning rules and refunds.

Abstract illustration of layered sound waves in four colored bands flowing across a soft gradient background

ElevenLabs has the cheapest confirmed entry plan of the four voice tools here: Starter at $6 a month for about 30 minutes of text-to-speech, with commercial use and instant voice cloning. WellSaid Labs Starter costs $19 a month, or $120 a year on annual billing, for 20 downloaded minutes a month. Murf’s Creator plan is $228 a year for 24 hours of voice generation, and Speechify Studio Starter is $100 a year. All four have a free tier, and none of the free tiers include commercial rights.

This is a documentary comparison based on the providers’ official pages. We have not bought, installed or tested any of these tools, and we have not listened to or rated their voices, so nothing here is a verdict on audio quality. Statements about safety and features are the providers’ own claims.

What an AI voice generator does, and what to settle first

These tools turn a script into synthetic speech, and some can also clone a voice from recordings. They are used for training videos, product demos, narration and dubbing. Before you upload a script, check whether it contains client, personal or confidential material. Our guide on how to classify data before using AI tools explains how to sort what can go into a third-party service. If the voice ends up in a video, plan the review steps too: see AI-assisted video production with review.

Entry and mid plans side by side

Prices and plan details were checked on the providers’ official pages on 5 November 2026. Figures are in USD as displayed. ElevenLabs states its prices exclude taxes, and Speechify’s Studio terms say its prices include VAT. Prices vary by country, currency, taxes and promotions, so confirm the final amount at checkout.

Item ElevenLabs Murf (Studio) WellSaid Labs Speechify Studio
Free tier 10k credits/month (about 10 min of TTS) 10 min of voice generation, 10 projects, no downloads 3 downloaded minutes/month 600 Studio credits
Entry paid plan Starter: $6/month, or $5/month billed annually Creator: $19/month, $228 billed annually Starter: $19/month, or $10/month billed annually ($120/year) Studio Starter: $100 a year
Entry plan allowance 30k credits/month (about 30 min of TTS) 24 hours/year of voice generation 20 downloaded min/month, or 240/year on annual billing 86,400 Studio credits
Mid plan Creator: $22/month, or $18.33/month billed annually Business: $66/month, $792 billed annually Pro: $49/month, or $33/month billed annually ($396/year) Studio Creator: $300 a year
Mid plan allowance 121k credits/month (about 121 min of TTS) 96 hours/year of voice generation 180 downloaded min/month, or 2,160/year on annual billing 345,600 Studio credits
Monthly billing Yes Not confirmed (only the yearly view was read) Yes for Starter and Pro Not displayed
Source: providers’ official pages, checked 5 November 2026. USD; taxes may apply. Murf figures are the yearly-billing view of its Studio pricing. ElevenLabs minute figures are the provider’s approximations.

Some rough equivalents, all our arithmetic from the displayed figures. Murf’s 24 hours a year is about 2 hours a month, and its Business plan’s 96 hours a year is about 8 hours a month. Speechify says voiceover uses 1 credit per second, so 86,400 credits is 24 hours of voiceover and 345,600 credits is 96 hours. Our data does not record whether those Speechify credits are granted per month or per year, so check that before comparing. WellSaid Starter on annual billing works out at $0.50 per downloaded minute ($120 ÷ 240). One caution on Murf: its help centre describes a different line-up, including a Growth plan and other hour allowances, so the pricing page and help centre do not fully agree.

The units differ, so read them carefully. ElevenLabs counts credits shared across all its products. WellSaid counts downloaded minutes. Murf counts hours of voice generation. Speechify counts credits that cost more for dubbing (3 per second) and avatars (30 per second) than for voiceover.

Free tiers and their limits

ElevenLabs Free gives 10k credits a month, about 10 minutes of speech, with no voice cloning listed and no commercial use. Murf Free gives 10 minutes of voice generation and 10 projects with no credit card, but no downloads and no commercial rights. WellSaid’s free trial plan gives 3 downloaded minutes a month and full access to its Studio, with “no commercial rights” and no credit card required. Speechify’s Studio Free Plan gives 600 credits, which is about 10 minutes of voiceover (our arithmetic), and states “no commercial usage rights”.

In short, the free tiers are for trying the editor and voices, not for publishing work.

Commercial use by plan

  • ElevenLabs: no commercial use on Free; a commercial licence from Starter upward, including Enterprise.
  • Murf: no commercial rights on Free; commercial rights on Creator; a business licence on Business; full broadcasting rights only as an Enterprise add-on.
  • WellSaid Labs: no commercial rights on the free plan; “full commercial rights” on Starter, Pro, Business and Enterprise.
  • Speechify Studio: no commercial rights on Free; commercial usage rights on Studio Starter, and Studio Creator includes everything in Starter.

If you publish synthetic voices, label them where your audience or the law expects it. Our guide to provenance and disclosure for AI media covers how.

Voice cloning and consent rules

Cloning rules vary more than prices. Whatever a provider allows, you need the speaker’s permission before you clone anyone’s voice, including a colleague’s or a client’s. This is not legal advice; check the rules where you work.

  • ElevenLabs lists Instant Voice Cloning from Starter and Professional Voice Cloning from Creator (one slot), with three slots on Scale and ten on Business. Its documentation says Professional Voice Cloning is only for your own voice: “Even with their consent, you cannot clone someone else’s voice.” Every professional clone goes through voice verification. Its terms say you may upload your voice or one you are authorized to share.
  • Murf lists custom voice clones only as an add-on on Enterprise. We could not confirm its consent procedure on an official page.
  • WellSaid Labs terms say that for a Custom Voice, every voice in your recordings must belong to someone who gave express, written consent, including your own. Its pricing page does not mention cloning, and which plans include custom voices is not confirmed.
  • Speechify Studio terms say creating new cloned voices “is not currently available”, except Original Voice dubbing for Business customers under a separate written agreement. That requires the voice owner’s explicit, informed authorization and personal verification.

Seats and teams

ElevenLabs lists 3 seats on Scale ($299 a month, or $249.17 a month billed annually) and 10 seats on Business ($990, or $825 billed annually); seats on lower plans are not stated. Murf’s Creator and Business plans have 1 editor each, and Enterprise has 5+ editor seats. WellSaid Business costs $160 per user per month, billed annually only, for 1 to 5 users, with 2,880 downloaded minutes a year per user; that is $1,920 per user per year. Speechify does not state seats for Studio plans.

Refunds and renewal

All four renew or charge in advance, so the cancel date matters.

  • ElevenLabs: plans auto-renew for the same period. You can cancel any time and keep access to the end of the period, but fees already paid are not refunded. Its terms say “All sales are final”, with refunds at ElevenLabs’ sole discretion.
  • Murf: cancellation takes effect at the end of the billing period, and Murf’s help centre says to cancel at least a day before renewal. Refunds are only “If you are eligible”; the refund terms were not confirmed.
  • WellSaid Labs: plans auto-renew until terminated. Cancel at least 24 hours before the period ends. Its terms say payment is nonrefundable except as stated or required by law, with refunds or credits at its discretion.
  • Speechify Studio: plans are charged upfront and you can terminate for the end of the current period. Unused limits do not carry over, and monthly subscriptions are non-refundable regardless of usage. The refund rule for annual self-serve plans was not confirmed.

API pricing

Murf shows separate pay-as-you-go API pricing from $0.01 per 1,000 characters (Falcon 2.1) and $0.03 per 1,000 characters (Gen2), with $10 of free API credit. ElevenLabs does not list API access per plan in its pricing table; it mentions 44.1kHz PCM output via the API on Pro. WellSaid says API access is available and trial keys can be requested, but per-plan API inclusion is not confirmed. Speechify’s developer API is a separate product we did not read.

PlayHT

PlayHT’s official website no longer loaded on 5 November 2026, so we could not read any plan or price and it is not included.

How to decide

ElevenLabs suits people who want low-cost monthly billing, cloning of their own voice and a clear path to team seats. Check the current offer on ElevenLabs, or read our ElevenLabs plans and prices review. WellSaid Labs suits people who prefer to count downloaded minutes and want commercial rights on every paid plan; see the current plans on WellSaid Labs. Murf suits people who need many hours a year on annual billing; check the current offer on Murf, and confirm the monthly price yourself. Speechify Studio suits people who also want dubbing and stock media in one place but do not need cloning; see the current offer on Speechify.

Checklist before you buy:

  • Estimate how many finished minutes you need each month, then compare units: credits, minutes or hours.
  • Confirm the plan includes commercial rights if anything will be published or sold.
  • Get written permission from anyone whose voice you plan to clone.
  • Check what data your scripts contain before uploading them.
  • Note the refund rule: most of these terms say payments are non-refundable.
  • Set a reminder before renewal and cancel at least a day ahead.
  • Confirm the final price, taxes and currency at checkout.

AIPilotera is reader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through some links, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide our recommendations. How we make money.